You’re Beautiful
Aired:
 2009

Starring:
Jang Geun Suk as Hwang Tae Kyung
Park Shin Hye as Go Mi Nyu & Go Mi Nam
Jung Yong Hwa as Kang Shin Woo
Lee Hong Ki as Jeremy 
Plot: Go Mi Nyu has lived at an orphanage with her twin brother, Go Mi Nam , since childhood, after their father passed away. Years later, her brother becomes a music idol, and Mi Nyu lives in junior nun dorm to reach her dream of becoming a nun. Her idol twin brother Mi Nam, successfully wins the “A*N Entertaiment” vocal auditions for musical band “A*N.JELL”, but Mi Nam must leave in order to correct his botched plastic surgery in the United States. Ma Hoon Yi (Mi Nam’s manager) approaches Mi Nyu to pose as Mi Nam while he recovers. Mi Nyu is against it at first, but agrees in order to find their mother. Mi Nyu posing as Mi Nam joins the band and meets its members: Hwang Tae Kyung, Kang Shin Woo and Jeremy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This was probably one of the first Korean dramas I watched, and still holds a very special place in my heart. I had read Hana Kimi and watched the Japanese live-action adaptation of it, so the idea of the ‘gender-bender’ plot was familiar to me. You’re Beautiful opened up a whole new world for me, with members of bands CN Blue and FT Island starring in it. 

The writers managed to combine comedy, romance and angst perfectly. I spent the majority of each episode either smiling or laughing. It’s not hard to see why this is still one of the more popular and well-known dramas. Most newbies to k-dramas have at least heard of or seen You’re Beautiful when they ask me for recommendations. The cast brought their skills to the table with power, making this drama shine.

The music was beautiful. Park Shin Hye has one of those truly pleasant voices. She’s not a powerhouse, and quite frankly I’m glad. That makes her renditions of a ballad even more poignant, and the light and fluffy songs she sings are a real joy to listen to. Lee Hong Ki has a beautifully husky voice that I don’t come across very often, which makes him a very soothing one to listen to when he sings a ballad. Jang Geun Suk’s voice is unique… but (and don’t shoot me for this if you’re a fan) he is not one of my favorites. I think he did well in singing for the drama; he’s simply not high on my replay list. 
When it comes to the instrumentals, I loved them. I think they did well in heightening the drama when need be.

Acting time!

Park Shin Hye

My first encounter with Park Shin Hye, and I thought she was absolutely adorable. While I didn’t necessarily laugh a lot, I definitely enjoyed watching her portrayal of Mi Nyu & Mi Nam. She was able to bring Mi Nyu’s difficulties in accurately posing as her brother across in a very cute way. I found it amusing how quickly everyone would believe she was a boy. Then again, when there’s no one around to question it in a society where there really is such a thing as a ‘flower boy’, I suppose it’s not that difficult to believe (for those of you unfamiliar with the term, a ‘flower boy’ is a male who has such pretty and/or delicate features that he could easily pass for a female).
Now, one thing that is ultimately always worth noting about this particular actress is her tears. I have never seen an actress who can crank out the tears like Park Shin Hye. When she starts to tear up, I mirror it. No amount of rapid blinking or stubborn willing of myself not to cry can stop it. I wind up bawling like a baby. 

Jang Geun Suk

Another first encounter, and the only role I’ve ever truly liked him in. He brought Tae Kyung to life in a way that I don’t think any other Korean actor could have at the time. Tae Kyung really seems to exist in his own world, at least mentally, in which no one can ever compare to him, and intruders, however accidental, are nothing more than a nuisance. Prickly, super-hygienic, bitter… If you’re wanting a jerk, you’ve hit the jackpot here, at least in the beginning. His attitude would make anyone uncomfortable if they were as sheltered as Mi Nyu, so it’s no surprise that she seems to constantly get into accidents around him that irritate the daylights out of him.  As the drama goes on, his personality gradually shifts. 

Jung Yong Hwa

Considering the character he had to play, I think he did pretty well. Shin Woo is a very quiet, compassionate man that, as the drama goes on, begins to reveal a subtle loneliness about him. He tries his best to quietly woo Mi Nyu without betraying his knowledge of her identity, refusing to give up the fight until the very end. He jumps right in when she needs him, but does it in his own way. I feel kind of bad for the guy; right from the start, he was put in the ‘forever friend’ zone.  That ‘friend-zone’ sticker was stamped onto his forehead with such force that there will always be an imprint. 
That being said, he’s one of my favorites among the main cast. 

Lee Hong Ki

My fluffy love bunnies for this guy hop all over the place any time I watch this drama. Lee Hong Ki will forever be the ultimate Jeremy. I don’t believe it has anything to do with his portrayal of Jeremy being the first one, since the Korean adaptation was the first released. It has to do with Hong Ki himself. He can be such a goofball in real life that I’m sure in some way he put a part of himself into this role. Jeremy is silly, loyal, and so hyper its cute.  You will spend most of his scenes just wanting to snuggle and squeeze the life out of him.
My favorite scenes of Jeremy will always be Shin Woo’s retaliation with the hose and Jeremy’s reaction to finding out Mi Nyu isn’t her brother. They’re the best, in my opinion.

In short, this is one of the dramas I will always recommend highly.