Now, last week I started what I hope to turn into a weekly thing. Eventually I will decide whether to make this post at the beginning or end of the week instead of smack dab in the middle. Right now there are still a few kinks to work out. Sorry!

This is, as always, a chance to express my own opinions, but on various happenings for the week.

2AM’s Jinwoon in a car accident

Because nothing gives fans a heartattack like seeing a headline with one of their idols and the word ‘accident’ paired together.  Jinwoon has reassured fans that he is alright, and has had surgery for his ankle injury and treatment for the laceration he received as well. Pictures of the car after the accident show that the baby of 2AM should have been hurt a lot more than he was, so let’s all take a moment to thank whatever higher powers we each believe in for his safe outcome, and wish Jinwoon a swift recovery!

Topp Dogg teases with unveiling of members

If you’ve been paying any attention to kpop news at all, you’ll have noticed that every day, another member for Topp Dogg is revealed. So far we’ve seen B-Joo, Hojoon, Jenissi, A-Tom, Nakta, P-Goon, Xero, Yano, Sangdo and Seogoong.  Apparently we’re going to be seeing another large boy group on the kpop scene soon. I’m interested in seeing what they’ll bring to the table.

Block B wins for the first time on a music show

It’s very very good!

I fully admit. I’m a total Block B girl. I was thrilled when they announced their return to the music scene under new management, and promptly fell in love with ‘Be the Light’. When they released their album and I watched the MV for ‘Very Good’, I couldn’t help but crack up. So upon finding out they’d won on SBS’ Inkigayo? I could have busted an eardrum from screaming so loud. Congratulations, boys!

Heo Young Saeng to make a comeback

This will be Youngsaeng’s last comeback before his military service, and it looks as though he intends to go out on a mellow note rather than with a bang. Compared to his last album, this looks to be more subdued. He will be the second member of SS501 to leave the industry for the 2 years of service.

Kim Jaejoong’s first full-length solo album

Let’s take a moment to thank the Kpop gods.

Kim Jaejoong has gotten fans salivating with his teaser photos, most of which contain blond hair (yay, it’s back!) and tattoos. Need I say more?
Let’s pretend for a moment that I know nothing about Kpop artists…. This man would draw me in all on his own. He was the first person in the Kpop world that I took interest in, during his TVXQ days. His first solo album soared to the top of my most played list, and I’m excited for this full-length album. He’s already released a track from it, and when I listened to it I loved it. It really showcases his vocal ability. I can’t wait to see his return with the full album.

Heechul to make a cameo on Heirs?

That’s right, E.L.F. Heechul is apparently going to have a cameo on the wed-thurs. drama ‘Heirs’. In true Heechul fashion, he teased fans with a picture of himself with Kang Minhyuk, who plays Chan Young on the show. I’m interested to see how high the ratings are going to get when he makes his first appearance, and what his cameo role will be.

Dongho to leave U-KISS

Citing health/stamina issues and a desire to live his life quietly instead of as a celebrity, Dongho has announced his departure from the group. The news seems to have taken fans by surprise, and I’ve seen a lot of upset in the hours since the announcement.
Okay, let’s take a look at a few things here.
First of all, yes. Dongho is a celebrity (for the timebeing). He has been a beloved member of U-KISS since day one.
Just because he made the decision to debut with U-KISS years ago and become a celebrity doesn’t mean that feelings can’t change over time. It’s happened with idols before. Sometimes, it wears a person down, and that can affect their health.
I’m not saying anyone’s opinion on his departure is wrong. You’re entitled to think and feel whatever you want. I’m simply saying we should try to see things more from Dongho’s point of view, and understand that this can’t have been a simple or quick decision for him and his parents. He probably spent months fretting over it. It’s not an easy decision to make.
Making a huge deal over it will hurt Dongho and in extension his family. It will also hurt the remaining members of U-KISS. Be upset all you want, but try to support his decision if possible, and please… continue to show your support for the rest of U-KISS. The members have accepted his decision, and they all need the support of their fans now more than ever.
Best of luck, Dongho!